top of page

Monday Musings: Background Check


I'm going to start documenting what I have learned from becoming a business owner. I feel like anyone can learn from my experiences, as I have learned from others. Rather than starting a new blog site totally, I'm going to place this here. I want to be transparent with you all, and let you get to know me a little more personally (if you don't already know).

Just a little background on me:

I am now 24 (Born in 1991). I am a mother to 2 toddlers (so yes business with babies is possible), and a wife. I actively seek my relationship wtih God. I love Him and His Word very much, though I wish I read even more than I do, but don't we all? I suffered strongly with depression in middle and high school. A lot of that has lead me into what I am doing now. Reason? I spent a lot of time on the computer and internet researching, writing, being artistic. (I can't draw with pen and paper, but give me some sort of technology and I can make pretty things!) I did all sorts of different activity in school, ending with getting a 5 star Thespian card for being in Theatre. I spent a lot of time in the auditorium. Basically, I acted the opposite of an introvert there, but at home it was back to introvertedness.

After graduating high school, I became a hermit almost. I spent time with my then boyfriend, had lots of fun at concerts, and I worked, but nothing else. It was boyfriend --> work --> home with my computer. I wrote a lot. I have a few books in progress. (We will see which ones become reality.) So I really love to write and design. They are my two main passions. Never would I have thought that either of them could become a 'career' much less a career I am in charge of! Taking scary steps just allows for you to jump out and take charge!

Okay, okay, I got a little bit off track there. In 2011, I started a YouTube channel and began to Vlog about concerts and such. I ended up meeting up with a guy from Backstage Entertainment and being able to take photos and videos and do interviews with major bands (the last bands I helped him interview were Black Veil Brides and Asking Alexandria). That led me to some really great friends for a while, and creating my own booking company. It was kind of a flop, but that led me to meeting my husband, which led me to getting a head on my shoulders and starting school for Business Management. I got my Associates Degree from ITT Technical Institute, and while I wanted my Bachelors, I could not afford to go back and get it. Which is fine, that's just what happens when you go to an expensive school.

Since getting my degree, I have stayed at home with my daughter, then worked for an insurance company for about 5 1/2 months, had my son, and been all over the place. I've never known what I really wanted to do and what my passion really was. I thought it was to become a birth and post-partum doula, which may still happen at some point, but I have had friends dip out and not let me attend their births to begin the certification process. Now, in May 2016, I realize that God (or the universe if that's what you believe), was the reason all of this happened. I love designing and I love helping people.

While my business is evolving and going towards more of a coaching, and I want to get my certification to become a life coach for other creatives, I am enjoy what I am doing. I realize that God had a time line for me. Every step has led to another step towards making me better.

This is just a reminder to you, to me, to everyone. You can do it. Everything is meant to let you grow, bad and good. So take everything with a grain of salt and use that salt to season your life.

scs quote: take everything with a grain of salt and use that salt to season your life

Where did you start? What thing WAY BACK WHEN has caused your life to ripple and grow into what it is now?

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page