top of page

3 Free Color Palette Websites

I've been taking a look at a few things, trying to help my 'design eye' so to speak. I didn't go to school for this stuff, so I apologize if I'm not perfect (but even those who go to school aren't perfect, right?!) I have found quite a few websites to help

me out here with certain aspects I don't feel so strongly about. Color is the big one! I cannot, for the LIFE of me, pick color palettes, and it seems to be a trend among my friends, too. Below, I have laid out 3 websites that I have found useful in choosing colors, so I hope that you will take a peak at them and love them, too!

1. COLOR.ADOBE.COM

Color.Adobe.Com is a color wheel that is WONDERFUL. It actually is the reason why I picked the colors I did for my branding. (Shown above). It is an amazing tool that allows you to create, share, explore, and save other designers' palettes. You can choose between analogous, monochromatic, triad, conplimentary, compound, shades or even a custom palette. The downside is that you do have to create an account with adobe to save palettes, but, since it's free, why not do it? You'll have a boat load of different color palettes to work with, and you'll always have a place to come to for inspiration!

2. DEGRAEVE.COM/COLOR-PALETTE

I am OBSESSED with this website! Plug in a picture that you can't live without, BAM you have a color palette. This is great for web design because we all have that one background we just have to have, right? Well, with this site you can get the colors from that photo to pair nicely with it. Choose your text colors and everything just from your favorite backgrounds. I really do recommend this one for color-spiration (new word, add it! hehe).

​​3. COOLORS.CO

This site is extremely great for playing around with. Just like Adobe, it will change the colors to go with the one you change up. I think it looks a little more professional in the way that they are lined up next to each other, but you do have to know which buttons to pull, press, etc. It's a little more advanced, but nothing a little 'play date' wouldn't help (Sorry, mom here, that's the only word I could figure out for that...). You can also explore and find other palettes that others have come up with. Very great resource that I will also be recommending to friends!

Overall, these 3 sites are AMAZING! I do highly recommend all of them. Let me know what you think in the comments below, and send me some of the palettes that you make!

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page